top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTerry de Vries

My favourite poem by Adyashanti




If you prefer smoke over fire

then get up now and leave.

For I do not intend to perfume

your mind's clothing

with more sooty knowledge.

No, I have something else in mind.

Today I hold a flame in my left hand

and a sword in my right.

There will be no damage control today.

For God is in a mood

to plunder your riches and

fling you nakedly

into such breathtaking poverty

that all that will be left of you

will be a tendency to shine.

So don't just sit around this flame

choking on your mind.

For this is no campfire song

to mindlessly mantra yourself to sleep with.

Jump now into the space

between thoughts

and exit this dream

before I burn the damn place down.


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page